View Full Version : Need help installing Ngspice

November 4th, 2006, 05:57 PM
Hi folks,

I'm looking for easy ngspice (EE application for circuit analysis) install instructions for my (K)ubuntu box. I saw some posting about ngspice, but they didn't provide enough info to really help me - specially since I'm not a Linux expert.

Any help would be appreciated.

November 4th, 2006, 07:52 PM
Hi folks,

I'm looking for easy ngspice (EE application for circuit analysis) install instructions for my (K)ubuntu box. I saw some posting about ngspice, but they didn't provide enough info to really help me - specially since I'm not a Linux expert.

Any help would be appreciated.

Hey. Ksimus is a KDE application for this. Make sure you have universe repositories enabled, and

sudo aptitude install ksimus

November 5th, 2006, 01:41 AM
I think ksimus only does logic (unless thats what your looking for).

its buggy and only version 0.3 but if your looking for something simple you may want to look at http://ktechlab.org/.

for ngspice
you can go here http://sourceforge.net/project/showfiles.php?group_id=38962&package_id=31152, click on the bit which says '17.binary.32bit' to expand it. THere should be something which says 'ngspice_17.0.0-1_i386.deb', download that one.

to install it type into a terminal
sudo dpkg -i ngspice_17.0.0-1_i386.deb
and then pray that it installs. download this into your home directory which would look something like /home/edisav. If you download it somewhere else you'll have to change into that directory first, then use the code I gave you.

November 7th, 2006, 03:53 PM