PDA

View Full Version : Anybody ever taken the Patent Bar exam?

hizaguchi
November 2nd, 2006, 08:37 PM
I'm a mechanical engineering student about to graduate in May and I don't have a job lined up yet. Today in my seminar class, a patent lawyer came in and talked about patent law and how people with science degrees are eligible to take the Patent Bar (no law school required) and become patent agents... earning $150-$200 an hour. So I'm wondering if anybody has ever taken this exam, and if so, what it is like. Also, since I am not a lawyer I am unable to decipher the convoluted registration instructions and so I can't tell what it would cost someone in my position to take the test. It says the registration fee is either $40 or $1600, depending on a bunch of criteria that is complete gibberish to me.

What's the deal with all of this? Is it something I could pull off? Is it worth it if I can?

DoctorMO
November 2nd, 2006, 08:59 PM
There was an article on groklaw with a link to a linux podcast where they interviewed a technical patent agent. very interesting, sorry I can't find the link though.

mips
November 2nd, 2006, 09:18 PM
Also, since I am not a lawyer I am unable to decipher the convoluted registration instructions and so I can't tell what it would cost someone in my position to take the test.

Got a link to the site ?

EDIT: Just googled patent bar and it gave me a gazillion links on stuff like how to pass the patent bar etc

http://www.patentbarbri.com/patent/patent_frameset.htm they even have exams there.
http://www.patentbarstudy.com/pto/ptoexams.html

hizaguchi
November 2nd, 2006, 09:21 PM
Yeah, it's a pdf: http://www.uspto.gov/web/offices/dcom/olia/oed/grb15nov05.pdf

Bezmotivnik
November 2nd, 2006, 10:00 PM