PDA

View Full Version : What did linux users for web browsing before Firefox?

paul6
November 2nd, 2006, 01:23 AM
Just curious, what did Linux users use for browsing before Firefox? I consider Firefox the piece of software that brought me to Ubuntu, and its the one app I have running all the time. I vaguely remember installing Red Hat in '01-02 and than quickly uninstalling it (I was a linux newb than), but now that I have Ubuntu I don't think I will ever go back to Windows.

skymt
November 2nd, 2006, 01:26 AM
Before Firefox there was Mozilla. Before Mozilla, there was Netscape. Before Netscape, nobody cared. ;)

glotz
November 2nd, 2006, 01:27 AM
Firebird, and Phoenix! Just kidding. Interesting question though.

jpeddicord
November 2nd, 2006, 01:38 AM
It was either Epiphany or Galeon, whichever existed at the time. I am pretty sure it was Galeon.

greggh
November 2nd, 2006, 01:42 AM
and of course Konqueror

trash
November 2nd, 2006, 01:45 AM
my first was lynx!

jpeddicord
November 2nd, 2006, 01:46 AM
my first was lynx!
Ah... that takes me back.

Joe_CoT
November 2nd, 2006, 01:47 AM
There was always a *nix browser, even if you go back to lynx ;)

I used lynx in many a broken Gentoo install :-D

darkhatter
November 2nd, 2006, 01:49 AM
Mozilla and Netscape I was too young to remember anything beyond those

John T. Monkey
November 2nd, 2006, 01:54 AM
The last browser I used before Firefox would have been the Internet Explorer that came with Windows ME (5?). It did it's job fine, I never had any problems with it. Not that I'd go back, I run Firefox on my XP computer aswell...

prizrak
November 2nd, 2006, 02:56 AM
Galleon, Konqueror, Netscape/Mozilla

RAV TUX
November 2nd, 2006, 04:48 AM