PDA

View Full Version : Application Equivalents

msimon1960
October 30th, 2006, 02:47 AM
I'm a 30 vet in personal computing -- my first one was a VIC-20 and I even played around with the venerable Sinclair once. I've seen and used most every OS as one time or another. Now I'm playing around with Ubuntu as a possible replacement for Windows.

I couple of thoughts...

1. I support the concept of Ubuntu -- I fundamentally support the notion of a OS that is not tied to applications. Microsoft is in a conflict of interest since it designs its OS to support its applications. An OS should do nothing more than manage the hardware and provide a stable environment for running applications. In my opinion, Netscape, WordPerfect, Lotus died not because the Microsoft equivalents were better but because the OS was tuned to their disadvantage and critical information was withheld by Microsoft.

2. The installation environment for Linux is immature -- I had considerable trouble getting hardware installed and functioning. Priority one for the whole Linux community is to get the hardware installation problem solved -- a common core installation driver spec for all hardware.

3. Equivalent Apps -- If I were an app designer I would select the most popular Windows apps and starting writing equivalents asap. For example -- there are no equivalents to FoxPro/dBase environments that I can find. I also can't find equivalents for ACT!, GoldMine, or Maximizer as CRM products.

Just some thoughts...

kerry_s
October 30th, 2006, 03:45 AM
Average joe user 3 years with linux and still learning. I have no computer skills but i can read.

Okay, will get right on it. You should really look what open source is, it's not a company, there are no employees, it's people who have a need and decided to do something about it, then they decided to share it.

1. Ditto