PDA

View Full Version : xgl--why I have chosen not to use it

4KvRMU7Nnv
October 29th, 2006, 04:32 PM
Hey! I'm a new member of Ubuntu forums! I'm also fairly new to Ubuntu as well. I'm using edgy and it's looking great.

The purpose of this post is to discourage people from using Xgl with Beryl. Yes, it does look cool. I have tried it several times and I truly wish that I could use it on my computer. There are problems that I cannot tolerate. Sometimes, randomly, it will not work. One problem that I had on occasion was when I logged in, all the window boarders were appearing and disappearing quickly. Several other things failed whenever this happened and it was impossible to use the computer. Each time that happened I had to restart X.

I don't know about the rest of you, but when the computer randomly crashes, something is not right. It worries me because I really don't like the idea of my Ubuntu not being stable when the default setting works perfectly.

I don't want people to hate me for this because I am a noob and don't know what I'm talking about. I have messed with different settings and setups of xgl over about 16 installs of ubuntu. :-? I'm really tired of messing with it and it seems that there will always be little problems. If I'm wrong, tell me, but for now I think I'll stay away from it and I would recommended to anyone new to Ubuntu to stay away as well.

meng
October 29th, 2006, 04:36 PM
Thanks for sharing your experience. I've never even been tempted to try XGL, and I'm happy to wait until it's more dveloped before I adopt it. While I also feel that newcomers to Ubuntu are best advised to keep things simple (walk before you run), in the end everyone is free to pursue their curiosity, and bling is very seductive! What I'm saying is that I wouldn't expect your advice to dissuade users from trying it for themselves.

taurus
October 29th, 2006, 04:37 PM