PDA

View Full Version : IRC Noob Here

DevNull11
October 28th, 2006, 12:19 AM
I'm defiantly a IRC noob. In fact I just heard about it today. How do you get a irc.freenode.net username. Plus How do you setup Gaim and Xchat because I plain to use both.

PriceChild
October 28th, 2006, 12:35 AM
You don't need to register a username... you can just jump right in!

You can password your username later though if you like it and stick with it. I can't remember the commands off-hand, but i'm sure anyone in #ubuntuforums would be happy to help.

John.Michael.Kane
October 28th, 2006, 12:46 AM
http://freenode.net/faq.shtml#nicksetup

DevNull11
October 28th, 2006, 02:36 AM
How do you just jump right in my gAim sayes it need a Screen Name and a password.

John.Michael.Kane
October 28th, 2006, 02:51 AM
Don't use gaim.

sudo aptitude install xchat

DevNull11
October 28th, 2006, 02:58 AM
I was going to use xchat for my ubuntu what can I use for my windows xp computer?

PriceChild
October 28th, 2006, 03:01 AM
or xchat-gnome

ice60
October 28th, 2006, 03:04 AM
I was going to use xchat for my ubuntu what can I use for my windows xp computer?
you can use this :)
http://www.silverex.org/news/

make sure you use that version, there's a paid version too.

if you decide to setup a username on freenode, make sure you don't use your username as the password. it will automatically make the password for the name you are using.

/msg nickserv register <your-password>

not this

/msg nickserv register <your-nick>

maybe that's obvious, but i have made that mistake a few times ](*,) lol

then when you open xchat find freenode,right when it has just opened, highlight freenode and select edit then put your password where it says -
Nickserv Password

but, maybe don't do that straight away, wait until you are happy using IRC first.

pmj
October 28th, 2006, 03:08 AM