PDA

View Full Version : Program/Compiler for C++

Sarah13
October 25th, 2006, 09:05 AM
Hello, this is my first programming related post. I just made the big switch over to Ubuntu, and I'm wondering about what the most highly recommended program/compiler is for Visual C++. I'm just learning C++, and before now I have been using MS Visual Studio 2005 and was wondering about a Linux replacement for that program.

Microsoft being Microsoft, if I make a solution/program file in Linux, can I save it in the correct format so that it will be the same as one created in Visual Studio?

Thanks.

po0f
October 25th, 2006, 09:39 AM
Sarah13,

You will at least need build-essential. Install it via Synaptic/aptitude. As for an IDE (which is what Visual Studio is), I myself haven't used Visual Studio, but a couple that come to mind are: KDevelop (for KDE), Anjuta (for GNOME), and Code::Blocks (http://www.codeblocks.org/) (which is cross-platform). I've only used C::B on Linux, but you could try it out on Windows to get used to it, convert your projets over to it, and then use it on Linux.

If you do go the C::B route, use one of the nightly builds, as the 1.0RC2 release is broken.

UpsideDownFace
October 25th, 2006, 09:57 AM
If you want to learn C seriously, then buy "The C Programming Language" by B.W.Kernigan and D.M.Ritchie and work through some of the examples.
Use the Terminal; mkdir programs; cd programs; type in the code for hello.c; gcc hello.c -o hello; ./hello will give "Hello, World"

UpsideDownFace
October 25th, 2006, 10:01 AM
Sorry I replied about C, for C++ it should be "The C++ Programming Language" by Bjarne Stroustrup; and "g++ hello.cpp -o hello"

darth_vector
October 26th, 2006, 06:10 AM
I agree, an IDE is not the way to go if you really want to learn a language. IDE's tend to hide things from you. The tools provided in build-essential, namely make and gcc should be more than sufficient for your needs.