PDA

View Full Version : I have wireless..I don't know how, but I do

Jellicletrb
October 22nd, 2006, 10:36 PM
I'm quite new to Ubuntu, I got my first CD Wednesday. I installed it on my desktop and with the help (ok, lots more than help) of Automatix, I had everything up and running by Thursday evening. So while I was posting my hoorays and "look at me's" in the beginners forum, someone mentioned the KDE desktop to me, so I decided to put it on the laptop and take a look at it. However, after reading all the scary posts about wireless networking on the boards, I thought that I'd use the ethernet card and a 25' "ribbon cable" and leave the wireless for a later date, when I know a bit more and get a bit braver.

So after installing Kubuntu on the laptop, dual booting with XP, I started exploring, and found an application called "wireless assistant" and thought, well, it can't hurt to look. The assitant detected my integrated wireless AND my wireless router. I right clicked on my network and it said, "You are about to disconnect from ****"

Disconnect????

So, I opened firefox and shazamm...there is Google.

hehehe...this is cool...look at me, having so much fun.

.t.
October 22nd, 2006, 10:43 PM
Good on ya. In GNOME, I recommend the Network Manager applet, in case you are curious.

Are you sure you want an insecure network though?

Jellicletrb
October 22nd, 2006, 10:46 PM
Good on ya. In GNOME, I recommend the Network Manager applet, in case you are curious.

Are you sure you want an insecure network though?

So far I've not worried too much about security. I live in a very, very rural area. Nothing else, including the nearest road, is within range of my router.

.t.
October 22nd, 2006, 10:50 PM
Me too! No public highway within a radius of about a mile here. And the nearest house is 1-200 yards away.

You probably beat that though (as it doesn't seem that rural to me, especially considering places in Yorkshire or the Scottish Highlands or Exmoor, for instance...).