PDA

View Full Version : What are repositories?

moon2js
November 1st, 2004, 04:56 AM
Can anyone point me in the direction on some materials Ubuntu/Debian repositories for packages?

I'm a relative newbie to Linux and a "this weekend" newbie to Debian, so I'm not particularly familiar with the differences between repositories in sources.list. For example, what's the difference between universe and multiverse? Main and restricted? How can I use sources (deb-src) in this process? Can I mix repositories/packages from warty with hoary or even real Debian?

That sort of thing. I'm sorry if this has been asked to death or is clearly explained somewhere because I can't quite find the answers.

FLeiXiuS
November 1st, 2004, 08:01 AM
Can anyone point me in the direction on some materials Ubuntu/Debian repositories for packages?

I'm a relative newbie to Linux and a "this weekend" newbie to Debian, so I'm not particularly familiar with the differences between repositories in sources.list. For example, what's the difference between universe and multiverse? Main and restricted? How can I use sources (deb-src) in this process? Can I mix repositories/packages from warty with hoary or even real Debian?

That sort of thing. I'm sorry if this has been asked to death or is clearly explained somewhere because I can't quite find the answers.

Repo's or Repositories are simply *dumps* for Ubuntu's packages. Its a huge storage system for Ubuntu's packages that programs goto to retrieve files being asked for.

EX: apt-get / synaptic

kamstrup
November 1st, 2004, 09:20 AM
You can read more about this on the Ubuntu homepage: http://www.ubuntulinux.org/ubuntu/components/document_view

You can enable the multiverse from within the Synaptics package manager.

If you are a Linux noob, I would wait a few months before enabling the Hoary repository ;P

moon2js
November 1st, 2004, 10:21 AM
Thanks for that link. That's the document I was looking for.