PDA

View Full Version : I'd like to try some linux programming

s0c0
October 20th, 2006, 04:46 AM
I've done some programming on the Windows platform (VB6, .NET, ASP) but I have zero experience in C++, Java, or any other languages primarily used in Linux.

I'd like to try building some simple apps in linux, maybe something dumb like a calculater to get the basics down or even a cli tool. Any thoughts on what language I should start with and tools I should use. Does linux have anything near as good for the GUI as the .NET IDE? If so, thats what I'd like to use, but I'm not opposed to something simple to start with. Any special packages I need?

Eventually I'd like to begin doing some web 2.0 stuff like ajax so any tips on what linux stuff to use for php, mysql, javascript, and xml stuff is helpfull. I'm open to pointing me towards some books and websites as well.

Thanks for reading folks.

bdb
October 20th, 2006, 05:22 AM
I've done some programming on the Windows platform (VB6, .NET, ASP) but I have zero experience in C++, Java, or any other languages primarily used in Linux.

I'd like to try building some simple apps in linux, maybe something dumb like a calculater to get the basics down or even a cli tool. Any thoughts on what language I should start with and tools I should use. Does linux have anything near as good for the GUI as the .NET IDE? If so, thats what I'd like to use, but I'm not opposed to something simple to start with. Any special packages I need?

Eventually I'd like to begin doing some web 2.0 stuff like ajax so any tips on what linux stuff to use for php, mysql, javascript, and xml stuff is helpfull. I'm open to pointing me towards some books and websites as well.

Thanks for reading folks.

IDEs that I know of but haven't used
-monodevelop
-eclipse
I would consult these projects for more information.