PDA

View Full Version : A Upgrade/Install App for debs

sbjaved
October 19th, 2006, 03:29 PM
I'm a newbie that loves ubuntu...But one thing thats really problematic is installation of software. I've got a modem that doesn't work under ubuntu (Motorola SM56) and that means no internet access...also some people who do have workable modems have quite low download speeds (~5kbps) which is fine for surfing but NOT for downloading apps.

So for people like us we don't have any way to install (say amarok...or beagle) apps. What i did for Windows was that i used to go to a high-speed cafe and download all setups there and bring it back on a USB home but for Ubuntu there are no deb packages available for download DIRECTLY OFF THE INTERNET and i've seen people advise against installig software that way.

So what would i (and a lot of people) like is some utility that mimicks synaptic (or maybe even synaptic itself as a standalone utility) that we could use to download packages ON SOME OTHER PC WITH FASTER INTERNET ACCESS....plop it in our systems and update/install the packages offline. Such a utility should be available as a Windows application (bcz not many cafes run linux on workstations let alone Ubuntu) and it should SEAMLESSLY integrate with synaptic so that it recognizes it as a repository (albeit Offline)

Has anyone made in-roads to such an approach?

Sorry for such a long post.

ATAQ
October 19th, 2006, 04:48 PM
Well you can search for apps at http://www.debian.org/distrib/packages
and download them there. burn them, take them home.(make sure you download all dependancies aswell, they are listed on that site)

Then copy from cd to /home/usr/

then open terminal, type; "sudo dpkg -i appname.deb"

Job sorted!

maniacmusician
October 19th, 2006, 05:18 PM
i'm pretty sure there's a web interface for the ubuntu repositories as well; i once used them to download ndiswrapper from another computer, but i cant for the life of me remember where it was located...