PDA

View Full Version : I wrote an upgrade script for the hell of it...

aysiu
October 12th, 2006, 07:15 AM
Disclaimer: I am not a programmer. I know very little about shell scripts except that they're collections of terminal commands. Most of this code is stuff I stole/adapted from a script written by forum member Nanotube. (http://ubuntuforums.org/member.php?u=66474)

If you see anything you want to improve, please post the improvement.

Since most people who would know enough to do
chmod +x scriptname.sh
./scriptname.sh would know enough to upgrade themselves, I'm not sure how useful this script might be, but I just put it together to see if it was possible to do easily.

Let me know what you think:
#/bin/bash

## Script written on 11 October, 2006 by aysiu
## Most of the syntax is adapted or just plain copied from code originally written by Nanotube for a Firefox installation script

## Make sure that we exit if any commands do not complete successfully.
set -o errexit
trap 'echo "Previous command did not complete successfully. Exiting."' ERR

## Introduction to script
echo "This script will upgrade you to the next version of Ubuntu.

If you're using Warty, it will upgrade you to Hoary.
If you're using Hoary, it will upgrade you to Breezy.
If you're using Breezy, it will upgrade you to Dapper.
If you're using Dapper, it will upgrade you to Edgy.

You should not upgrade more than one version at a time. If you want to upgrade from Breezy to Edgy, you're better off--in terms of time and stability--just installing Edgy from scratch.

This script also assumes you have a broadband internet connection. If you have no internet connection or are on dial-up, please do not use this script."

## Confirmation of desire to proceed
echo -e -n "

Do you still wish to proceed [y/n]? "
while true
do
read ans
case $ans in
Y|y) break ;;
[Yy][Ee][Ss]) break ;;
N|n) exit ;;
[Nn][Oo]) exit ;;
*) echo -n "Invalid command. Please answer yes or no [y/n] " ;;
esac
done