PDA

View Full Version : Hello from a newbie...

Betelgeuse
October 11th, 2006, 03:19 AM
Hi !

I'm a newbie for linux, and I'm still do not use Ubuntu but I've started downloading it and I'll try to use Linux for all my computer needs. I've chosen Ubuntu distro becouse it's not just an OS I'm looking for, the nice community and the philisophy around ubuntu attracted me...

I'm a software developer for 20 years and currently I'm using windows 2000 and MS tools, mainly mssql and asp. I do not want to use those platform becouse of I do not like that .NET nonsense and I get angry about the idea of DRM. So, I've decided that I should convert to free software side.

I hope I'll be a fellow member of this good ubuntu community.

PS: Sorry for my language errors, english is not my native language, do not flame me for this, but you may correct my errosr so I can express what I think better...

henriquemaia
October 11th, 2006, 04:14 AM
Welcome aboard this nice and friendly community. I wish you lot of success in your Ubuntu journey.

etc
October 11th, 2006, 04:28 AM
Good luck

Hmarroqu
October 11th, 2006, 05:10 AM
welcome, ubuntu is pretty sweet, so i hope u enjoy it as much as i do...maybe even more!:D

matthew
October 11th, 2006, 10:22 AM
Welcome. Glad to have you around.

I'm going to move this thread to the cafe where more people will see it.

Tamil
October 11th, 2006, 06:35 PM
Welcome to Ubuntu forums.

John.Michael.Kane
October 11th, 2006, 07:26 PM
Welcome. hope you enjoy your time here.

.t.
October 11th, 2006, 09:11 PM
I'm glad there's a new user who understands the evil of DRM (and hopefully also closed source software!). Welcome home!

chaosgeisterchen
October 11th, 2006, 09:39 PM
I hope you will soon find an appropiate language you wanna learn in addition to those you already use.

There are several threads covering this topic, but I am convinced you will find out by yourself.

Ptero-4
October 12th, 2006, 12:02 AM
Welcome aboard mate.

djsroknrol