PDA

View Full Version : It's never too late, I want to buy an electric guitar...

RAV TUX
October 9th, 2006, 01:00 PM
Looking for advice on a good first purchase, would rather spend a bit more for quality, but not go over board.

Looking for good advice,....links and pictures appreciated.

mips
October 9th, 2006, 01:09 PM
...pictures appreciated.

Are the looks important ? I'm no musician but music for me is about sound and not looks

matthew
October 9th, 2006, 01:14 PM
Woo hoo!!!

These would be my top 4 recommendations as they are pretty consistently well made and reasonably affordable*. They are also good enough to use outside of your bedroom when you get better and want to do so. I'm sure others will chime in here as well. I can think of several other great guitars to begin on.

In order with links:
Fender Standard Telecaster (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Telecaster-Electric-Guitar?sku=516035)
http://img3.musiciansfriend.com/dbase/pics/products/tn/4/7/4/327474.jpg

Fender Standard Stratocaster (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Fender-Standard-Stratocaster-Electric-Guitar?sku=516037)
http://img3.musiciansfriend.com/dbase/pics/products/tn/4/8/2/327482.jpg

Epiphone Les Paul Standard (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-Les-Paul-Standard-Electric-Guitar?sku=518341)
http://img3.musiciansfriend.com/dbase/pics/products/tn/7/1/3/393713.jpg

Epiphone G-400 SG (http://www.musiciansfriend.com/product/Epiphone-G400-SG-Electric-Guitar?sku=518291)
http://img3.musiciansfriend.com/dbase/pics/products/tn/7/6/3/274763.jpg