PDA

View Full Version : Syntax highlighting in c/c++

navneeth
October 3rd, 2006, 04:54 AM
I'm sorry if this question has been posted before, but I wasn't able to find a related post or thread.

How can I highlight the syntax while writing c/c++ programs from the termninal? I just installed g++ from synaptic.

Thank you.

po0f
October 3rd, 2006, 04:59 AM
navneeth,

That depends on what editor your using. If it's Vim, do this from the terminal:

$ cat /usr/share/vim/vim64/vimrc_example > ~/.vimrc

You might want to check to make sure that file exists, I believe that's where it's installed.

navneeth
October 3rd, 2006, 05:02 AM
Mmm...I'm not sure I understand. Sorry for the noob question, but what do you mean by editor? I'm new to programming,so kindly bear with me.

po0f
October 3rd, 2006, 05:11 AM
navneeth,

Gedit has syntax highlighting, and works like your basic, run-of-the-mill GUI text editor. If you're just starting out, I wouldn't try to bog you down with learning how to use a terminal editor and learning how to program. Get comfortable with actually writing code, then you can move up to a more powerful editor.

navneeth
October 3rd, 2006, 05:20 AM
I'm not learning this on my own, but attending a course, where we use Fedora and it's all done from the terminal. Where do I get gedit from? I can't find it in Synaptic or Automatix.

navneeth
October 3rd, 2006, 05:40 AM
Never mind...found it. Thanks. :)

chamarams
July 1st, 2009, 03:23 PM
How can I highlight the syntax while writing c/c++ programs from the ubuntu termninal I just installed g++.when I am coding fedora terminal It's give(syntax highlighting) but in ubuntu It's doesn't give.now i have ubuntu only.how can i do this please help me.

benj1
July 1st, 2009, 05:03 PM
does it have to be in the terminal, if not theres gedit already installed and any number of IDEs in the repositories.