PDA

View Full Version : Extend gedit's syntax highlighting

punkinside
October 2nd, 2006, 12:11 PM
Hey gang,

anybody know how to incorporate new syntax highlighting in gedit like its possible in ConTeXT?

I cant remember exactly the proyect I needed this for as I had to make do in the little time I had without syntax highlighting. But say I wanted to write something in some obscure language and wanted to "add" syntax highlighting for it in gedit. Does anybody know how to do this?

colo
October 2nd, 2006, 01:24 PM
I'm sorry I do not really contribute to an answer for that specific question, but I still want to stress that no serious programmer uses gedit, anyway. There's [x]emacs and [g]vim, and at least for the latter it's perfectly documented how to write syntax definition files.

punkinside
October 2nd, 2006, 05:15 PM
I'm a serious java programmer and for that I use eclipse but I dont feel like learning 6,02x10^28 shortcuts to be able to use vi(m) for a simple sudoku-solution generator project in prolog. I was just curious.

DirtDawg
October 2nd, 2006, 06:22 PM
Sorry, but I too am not contributing directly to the asked question.

But I would like to point out Cream (http://cream.sourceforge.net/) has ConTeXT highlighting built in. It's in the repos.

KoRnholio
October 2nd, 2006, 11:40 PM
I believe the answer is 'no'. I'm not 100% sure of this, however.

I think that'd be something worth requesting on their site - http://www.gnome.org/projects/gedit/

Wolki
October 3rd, 2006, 05:02 AM
gedit uses the gtksourceview widget for text display, including syntax highlighting. See http://gtksourceview.sourceforge.net/docs.html

FAQs

1. Language XYZ is not supported by GtkSourceView. I cannot live without it. How can I do?
Write a XYZ.lang file describing the syntax of the XYZ language. It is a simple XML file. Look in the gtksourceview/language-specs directory for some examples.

DarkW0lf
May 28th, 2007, 08:11 PM