PDA

View Full Version : any cool ideas for emulation?



towsonu2003
October 2nd, 2006, 06:50 AM
do you have any cool stuff you do with vmware / qemu? anything goes :)

pay
October 2nd, 2006, 07:12 AM
If you consider installing operating systems cool, then I install them:)

towsonu2003
October 2nd, 2006, 07:16 AM
If you consider installing operating systems cool, then I install them:)
lol :)

for example, I spotted someone (elsewhere) writing about a script that would let a user to login to an emulated Windows XP session (vmplayer -X vmware.vmx was the suggested command in his/her script I believe).

anything like this (new, creative, fun, stupid, etc)

I'm just bored ;)

Klaidas
October 2nd, 2006, 02:18 PM
Hmmm... install Win Vista in VMware?

djsroknrol
October 2nd, 2006, 07:17 PM
I run a script to start MS Access and load my car card and waybill program for my N-gauge railroad with Win2000Pro in VMware....

I wish I didn't have to go this way, but OO still doesn't read .mdb files yet....maybe one day I could save some HD space....:-D

PatrickMay16
October 2nd, 2006, 08:00 PM
Recently I stumbled across SuSE 7.2, which my brother had been trying out four years ago.
So, you could say that installing old linux distros would be a fun thing to do.

nalmeth
October 2nd, 2006, 11:31 PM
for example, I spotted someone (elsewhere) writing about a script that would let a user to login to an emulated Windows XP session (vmplayer -X vmware.vmx was the suggested command in his/her script I believe).
Thats pretty cool, but performance still must be slow running the 2 OS's at once, even without a native DE running..

towsonu2003
October 2nd, 2006, 11:59 PM
Thats pretty cool, but performance still must be slow running the 2 OS's at once, even without a native DE running..

you could always tell them that your hardware is old? I'm not sure... but there are some people who are willing to use MS regardless of speed :)

PS. A core duo would solve that problem, wouldn't it?

ice60
October 3rd, 2006, 01:14 AM
i run Dapper in vmware because i can't get it installed on my hardware. i'm using it now :D

it's only recently i've realised how great VMs are, you just can't tell i'm running ubuntu inside suse at all, apart from i think if i tired to use compiz :confused:

i started downloading the xgl/compiz linux vmware image. it might be worth trying that to learn compiz if you don't know it well so you don't break Ubuntu. (i broke suse for a few hours eariler today running compiz :rolleyes: )

towsonu2003
October 3rd, 2006, 05:24 AM
i run Dapper in vmware because i can't get it installed on my hardware. i'm using it now :D

it's only recently i've realised how great VMs are, you just can't tell i'm running ubuntu inside suse at all, apart from i think if i tired to use compiz :confused:

i started downloading the xgl/compiz linux vmware image. it might be worth trying that to learn compiz if you don't know it well so you don't break Ubuntu. (i broke suse for a few hours eariler today running compiz :rolleyes: )

isn't emulation slower to use in everyday life (if you don't have to use it I mean)? or do you have some nice hardware there?


also, I thought 3d isn't very nice in vmware / qemu / etc. ppl keep saying "you can't really play 3d Windows games in vmware" etc. how do you deal with the performance issue?

maniacmusician
October 3rd, 2006, 05:35 AM
as long as you have at least 1 GB of RAM, and a decent processor, you should be good to go with virtual machines.

3D however, is a whole another matter. It is still experiental, and thus, not as good as it could be. I'd recommend at least 2 GBs of RAM and a very good video card if you want to attempt that, and even then, it might be a crapshoot. But if you can run 3D successfully in linux, have a really nice computer (including vid card), then you can probably pull it off in vmware as well

towsonu2003
October 3rd, 2006, 05:58 AM
as long as you have at least 1 GB of RAM, and a decent processor, you should be good to go with virtual machines.
an example of a decent processor? I've got intel celeron 2.80 Ghz (or so says cpuinfo) but I don't like the speed I get, say, running DSl under vmware. [and qemu is slower han vmware even with kqemu module)



3D however, is a whole another matter. It is still experiental, and thus, not as good as it could be. I'd recommend at least 2 GBs of RAM and a very good video card if you want to attempt that, and even then, it might be a crapshoot. But if you can run 3D successfully in linux, have a really nice computer (including vid card), then you can probably pull it off in vmware as well

I've got an ati that can't get 3d with fglrx, so I'll forget about 3d in vmware :)

maniacmusician
October 3rd, 2006, 06:01 AM
an example of a decent processor? I've got intel celeron 2.80 Ghz (or so says cpuinfo) but I don't like the speed I get, say, running DSl under vmware. [and qemu is slower han vmware even with kqemu module)

if you're not liking your speed with DSL then i doubt it'll be nice with anything heavier. how much RAM do you have? that could be a deciding factor. I have a 3.06 GHz processor (not too much more than yours) but i do have 1.5 GBs of RAM, which allows windows to be usable in VMWare. not that I've used it in a while, thank god.



I've got an ati that can't get 3d with fglrx, so I'll forget about 3d in vmware :)

I'm in the same situation. I hate ATI...never again.

towsonu2003
October 3rd, 2006, 06:08 AM
if you're not liking your speed with DSL then i doubt it'll be nice with anything heavier. how much RAM do you have? that could be a deciding factor. I have a 3.06 GHz processor (not too much more than yours) but i do have 1.5 GBs of RAM, which allows windows to be usable in VMWare. not that I've used it in a while, thank god.
I've got 1GB RAM (possibly a low quality one). DSL is usable (and I even tried windows, and it was usable too) but I hate the feel it gives: it's like you're using a Win 95 computer with Win 98 in it. the delay and so on.


I'm in the same situation. I hate ATI...never again.
never again...

I drool over laptops that have nvidia cards in them...

ice60
October 11th, 2006, 02:20 AM
isn't emulation slower to use in everyday life (if you don't have to use it I mean)? or do you have some nice hardware there?
it is slower, but i can't tell any difference at all. but, i do have fairly good hardware - 2gigs of RAM and 3GHz dual core processors. i've got a nice nvidia card too :mrgreen:



also, I thought 3d isn't very nice in vmware / qemu / etc. ppl keep saying "you can't really play 3d Windows games in vmware" etc. how do you deal with the performance issue?
i didn't finish the download for the Kororaa image because xgl made me feel so sick on my host computer so i can't say how it works.

i can say Ubuntu runs perfectly and i really can't tell it's a VM

gnome-screenshot does not work though lol but i think thatś because i installed xubuntu, then the gnome-desktop

towsonu2003
October 11th, 2006, 05:11 AM
gnome-screenshot does not work though lol but i think thatś because i installed xubuntu, then the gnome-desktop
what's the error it spits? it's supposed to work if you installed w/ apt-get. might be a bug...



i've got a nice nvidia card too
that's the solution right there :) ati: never again...