PDA

View Full Version : How to update wine?

haxer
October 1st, 2006, 09:59 PM
Hello i wounder how to update wine to the newest?

Mr Frosti
October 1st, 2006, 10:08 PM
This depends on the method that you used to install your existing version of WINE. If you selected this package using Synaptic, or from "Add/Remove", then updating can be done by opening Synaptic Package Manager, and right-clicking on WINE and choosing upgrade (If an upgrade is available)

If you installed WINE by custom installing, then you can download the latest version, and install this. Files from the older WINE will be overwritten with the new versions.

Locutux
December 19th, 2007, 12:27 PM
What if there's no "upgrade" availble? I would like to update my Wine to the newest version as well.

Thanks.

Naegling23
December 19th, 2007, 02:06 PM
go to www.winehq.com. Add the requested address to your package manager.

Locutux
December 19th, 2007, 02:54 PM
Thanks man, but you're talking with a newbie here. :) I'm not sure how do I do that.

Hairy_Palms
December 19th, 2007, 02:59 PM
go to Applications->Accessories->Terminal and past these lines

wget -q http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/387EE263.gpg -O- | sudo apt-key add -
sudo wget http://wine.budgetdedicated.com/apt/sources.list.d/gutsy.list -O /etc/apt/sources.list.d/winehq.list
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get install wine

cogadh
December 19th, 2007, 04:06 PM
There is a sticky thread at the very top of this forum that explains exactly how to update Wine to the latest:
http://ubuntuforums.org/showthread.php?t=624644

ThaRabbit
December 19th, 2007, 04:10 PM
To be complete, using the method linked to by cogadh: wine will automatically be updated using the winehq Ubuntu repositories.

a.k.a. you'll get a notification from the update manager if a new version is released. Each time winehq releases a new version they build a Ubuntu .deb package ready for installation.

:)

Locutux
December 19th, 2007, 05:48 PM
Thank you. It worked.

mikemunsil