PDA

View Full Version : Firefox on Ubuntu vs. Firefox on SUSE

BarfBag
September 25th, 2006, 03:39 PM
Last week, I switched to good ol' SUSE 10 (hate 10.1). I've been using Linux for a little over 2 years, and SUSE was my first. Coming back, I realized something - Firefox in SUSE murders Firefox in Ubuntu. The Firefox in Ubuntu was very unstable. It would randomly close, the MPlayer plug-in didn't work half the time, JAVA and Flash would freeze it most of the time, and things were slower overall. I haven't had a single one of those issues in SUSE. I checked, and I'm using the same version. Has anybody else noticed this?

Luggy
September 25th, 2006, 03:44 PM
PINCNIC ( Problem in chair, not in computer )

Firefox is stable for me, Java works, Mplayer plugin works, flash works but I have componding issues with my sound card so that can kinda suck some times.

darteo
September 25th, 2006, 04:50 PM
Dear BB,

I am so new, this is the first post in the forum and I wonder if I will ever get back here to read your answer. (darteo4art@gmail.com) This is a brave new world. I loaded Ubantu on my previous xp pentium 3. Most of it seems to work. I am amazed that there are some options to using Msoft. I am using a dial up and things go very slow. I am also an American in Rome Italy, so that makes it more interesting.

I was asked to manual download a Java plug-in for a chat client on Firefox. It had several options for different types of linux. Which do I choose? What number linux is Ubuntu? I read some threads in this forum about Java, it seems complicated. I am so new I have no idea what they are talking about. Has anyone thought of a step by step intallation guide for the normal every day end-user?