PDA

View Full Version : Linux jobs in UK?

Dinerty
September 24th, 2006, 09:52 PM
Just wondered if any of you guys make a living working with Linux?, I graduated from University with a HND in Network Computing, however, most employers want experience within the industry.

I am in love with Linux and would like to get a job within it some day (Network Admin or something similar).

Many places run Linux servers?

Any tips?

mips
September 25th, 2006, 01:20 PM
I would look at the telecoms industry as a good start. High tech and lots of Unix/Linux in use.

Your best bet would be to look at big corporates like BT, Cisco, C&W, Orange, Vodavone, Juniper etc

They tend to use a lot of unix based management platform. If you look at the big companies you will also find they offer internships for graduates etc.

It might mean relocation to their corporate headcourters though.

There are also financial institutions but I'm not that familair with them.

shrimphead
September 25th, 2006, 01:30 PM
Google have a major london office and are looking for graduates.

Dinerty, I'm in a similar boat to you, I've just finished uni (my MSc) and am trying to get a job involved with Linux, so far I've not had any luck at all :(

whereabouts in the UK are you looking?

ComplexNumber
September 25th, 2006, 01:36 PM
try employment search engines such as cwjobs.co.uk that deal specifically with IT jobs. here (http://www.cwjobs.co.uk/JobSearch/Results.aspx?Keywords=linux) is a taster.
there are many others. get your name down with lots of agencies, and make each of the agencies aware that you are registered with others and that they are getting you leads. this will make them all compete for you because they hate to let another agencies steal their clients. you have to hassle them quite regularly(about once or twice a week), though, otherwise you will never hear from them again.

darrenm
September 25th, 2006, 01:44 PM