PDA

View Full Version : Equivalent of .exe in Linux?

iONiK
September 23rd, 2006, 10:09 AM
What is the equivalent of an executable in linux? How would I go about programming tools for Linux? What tools and knowledge do I need? I have programmed on every system I have owned except for Linux...

Please help.

wildseven
September 23rd, 2006, 10:12 AM
for programming tools, you can search the repositories for c++, java, python, jython and other languages.

iONiK
September 23rd, 2006, 10:23 AM
and if I compile something, I can just run it?

wildseven
September 23rd, 2006, 10:27 AM
yeh, in terminal, just type the name.

iONiK
September 23rd, 2006, 10:31 AM
Thanks.

wildseven
September 23rd, 2006, 10:32 AM
yup.

junglepeanut
September 23rd, 2006, 10:42 AM
I am very new to programming, but

if you compile it, you can call it whatever you want then if your path is special you can just type the name. If not put ./name where name is you know what.

If it is a script (read an interpreted language) you will probably/may have to make the file executable. Read I think... "man chmod" I cheat and use chmod 755 for anything I think I may need to execute but I don't know if that is a good thing.

Engnome
September 23rd, 2006, 05:01 PM
I am very new to programming, but

if you compile it, you can call it whatever you want then if your path is special you can just type the name. If not put ./name where name is you know what.

If it is a script (read an interpreted language) you will probably/may have to make the file executable. Read I think... "man chmod" I cheat and use chmod 755 for anything I think I may need to execute but I don't know if that is a good thing.

Right click the file --> properties --> permissions
Set to whatever you want.

If a file is set to be executable you can just double click and choose run instead of using the terminal.

tht00
September 24th, 2006, 03:58 AM