PDA

View Full Version : University Students - Note taking software

lokist
September 19th, 2006, 07:55 PM
I am in my first year of university and I managed to get ubuntu working on my laptop... It works pretty good actually.

I am wondering if there are any programs out there that would help keep notes organized... or a note-taking program... At the moment I am using the one that comes with Office 2003 on my Windows partition.

Any ideas?

Rashid584
September 19th, 2006, 08:10 PM
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Category:Free_notetaking_software

-Rashid

GaneAir
November 2nd, 2009, 01:05 PM
Note taking software - good for us :)

Sef
November 2nd, 2009, 07:26 PM
Moved to ABT.

Sir Jasper
November 3rd, 2009, 03:35 AM
Hi,

Keynote 1.6.5 is a very powerful Windows Outliner which also seems perfectly behaved using Wine in Ubuntu (Xubuntu in my case).

It is old, but not dated and rich in features which seem ideal for your Uni notes.

If you google and download it (to Windows or Ubuntu ) you can form a quick initial opinion by browsing the tips and the menu/icons.

If you install Wine-Doors as well as Wine you can easily access URLs and if the inbuilt spell checker is not available to you could try TinySpell. It also includes the excellent WordWeb.

I would be interested to know what you decide and how you get on.

My regards

With highlights and text colours and sizes, multiple indents (chapterisation) bullets, Arabic or Roman numbering, copy and paste, drag and drop and backup options ....+ + +

Added:
Additionally, I have now tried Keynote and TinySpell on a USB stick.

itsdaveperdue
December 8th, 2009, 06:36 PM
Evernote is great. The 3.1 version works under Wine. You can access your notes through the web, on an iPhone, or install Evernote on another windows machine. It all syncs online and all devices sync together.

www.evernote.com

The new 3.5 beta version doesn't work under wine (because of .net 3.5), so make sure to get the 3.1 version.

jlhaslip