PDA

View Full Version : I've been using OS X exclusively for a while now....

Sushi
September 13th, 2006, 11:52 AM
Now, there might not be a point to my message, so feel free to consider this as a stream of thought.

I have been using OS X for the last several months. Reason for that is that my Linux-PC broke down (hardware-failure), so I was stuck with my Mac Mini which I had bought so I could get to know OS X as well. It's always a good thing to try out new things.

Anyway, since it seemed that I might be stuck with OS X for a while (I had no interest to buy new machine at that point, and I had no interest in suffering the binary-problems of PPC-Linux), I dived headfirst in. I upgraded from Panther to Tiger, bought more RAM for the Mini, and bought latest version of iLife and iWork. Hell, I even joined a MUG! And things have been pretty smooth. OS X sure has lots of candy in it, and things look very good. And things usually "just work". But candy is not important, and things do usually "just work" in Linux as well. But OS X does seem to have that level of spit 'n polish that Linux simply does not have. Built-in presentations in mail.app, easy sharing of content between iLife-apps. Built-in presentations in iChat in Leopard. Features like that seem very nifty, and they seem to be (sadly) missing from Linux.

Before you say "OK, bye then. Enjoy your Mac!"... Deep down I know that using OS X is not righteous. Yes it's better than Windows, yes it's very refined and smooth. But still, advocating OS X would mean replacing one monopoly with another. Do I sacrifice long-term security for short-term comfort? And besides, I'm not all that certain that OS X IS "better" than Linux.