PDA

View Full Version : Goodbye Linux

Beamerboy
September 12th, 2006, 12:43 PM
Well I have been using Ubuntu for about 8 months now as my only OS (no dual boots), but the time has come to revert back to the dreaded windows, for several reasons:

Firstly, I have 2 NVidia cards with VIVO (video in/video out) which I bought for the sole purpose of watching my tv on my PC without requiring a seperate TV Card. I have Sky TV so I just want to run svideo out from the decoder box, to Svideo in on my Nvidia Cards. Using a seperate tuner is redundant as I don't need a tuner, just video in. This works fine in windows using wdm drivers but there is no support for video in with newish NVidia vivo cards for Linux. I have been patiently waiting for RivaTV to include support for these newer cards since NVidia opened up the I2C bus some time ago, but it just isn't happening. The RivaTV project (which is the official project for NVidia VIVO support) just isn't going anywhere and I need the space that the tv is using up in my office.

Secondly, I am not happy with the attitude of some of the Ubuntu "staff" on freenode irc network. There are one or two who do nothing but abuse their position (Seveas being the primary problem). It basically goes like this, if you don't kiss his *** or happen to disagree or criticise him, he bans you from the channel. I have yet to see Seveas do anything BUT ban people who have the nerve to criticise him. This, in my opinion, goes against the ethos of Ubuntu and has left me no longer wanting to be involved in the community.

I have spent a great deal of my time helping other users with many things in Ubuntu, particularly with XGL/Compiz and maintaining my HOWTO for XGL/Compiz. But I also refuse to sit back and watch people abuse their position without calling them up on it, so the time has come for me to leave.