PDA

View Full Version : Why Python?

dmjohnson
September 5th, 2006, 01:23 PM
I am new to Linux but have been programming in other environments for almost a decade. I have been reading in the forums and saw some comments that lead me to the understanding that most Linux programming is done in Python. Is that true?

If so... I just wondered if anyone knew why. Not that I have anything against Python but Python is an interpreted language. As a general rule I have always been told that interpreted languages are best for smaller amounts of code such as using Javascript for formatting in Web development.

I was under the beleif that use of a compiled language was better for mass coding. This is neither a bash or a challenge against Linux or Python - just trying to expand my knowledge. Thanks for any comments.

blaamann
September 5th, 2006, 01:32 PM
I am new to Linux but have been programming in other environments for almost a decade. I have been reading in the forums and saw some comments that lead me to the understanding that most Linux programming is done in Python. Is that true?

No it is not. Most part of "Linux" (both the kernel and apps running on top of the kernel) is written in C.

Python is a popular language gaining momentum for some time and is increasingly used for user and system application, but it can't be used for everything.

sysops
September 5th, 2006, 06:50 PM
Linux programming is a broad term and depending on which part of this spectrum you refer to, different programming languages have their niches. But there are reasons why some languages are right for some kinds of programming while others might be able to do the same jobs but invloving them in doing so is overkill.