PDA

View Full Version : Xilinx ISE + Parralel Programming Cable

Fluffy_v
September 4th, 2006, 05:39 AM
After some time I have managed to get the Xpilinx ISE 8.2i installed and working with the parallel programming cable that was included with my development board. Once I had the right files, it was pretty easy.

I am still pretty new to linux in general, but i will try and help if anyone has problems with this guide.

I have no idea if this will work with the USB programming cable, as I do not have one to test.

The driver source files are not the most current, I could not get the most current ones to work.

there are a few tutorials on installing and compiling the programming cable drivers, but none really worked for me. These are the two I used to finally get things working.
http://www.c3a.de/wiki/index.php/ISE_Webpack_Ubuntu
http://www.freelabs.com/~whitis/electronics/fpga/xilinx_install_deb3.1.html

My test system:
Fresh Ubuntu 6.061 install(no idea if it will work on any other version)
800Mhz PIII laptop
512MB Ram
20Gig HD.

Programming was tested and verified on a Digilent Spartan-3 Board with the included parallel programming cable.

Here are the steps I took to finally get things working, most are console commands.

# a few things are needed to build the programming cable drivers:
sudo apt-get install gcc make linux-headers-386

# need a place to store the ISE and driver source files.
mkdir xilinxISEinstall
cd xilinxISEinstall

# need to get the ISE and the driver source files (the webpack is 107MB)
wget http://direct.xilinx.com/direct/webpack/82/WebPACK_82i_SFD.sh
wget http://www.jungo.com/download/WD800LN.tgz
wget ftp://ftp.xilinx.com/pub/utilities/M1_workstation/linuxdrivers.2.6.tar.gz

# install the ISE (this install is SLOW)
# need to agree to the licenses
# ignore the windriver errors at the end of the install
# will build the drivers later
sh WebPACK_82i_SFD.sh

# extract the windrvr driver source
tar xzf WD800LN.tgz