PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Can't boot Lubuntu 20.04 after installation

duckwobble
May 3rd, 2021, 01:48 AM
Hello,

I've combed through several similar posts and tried various things which have had little effect!

My laptop is a HP ProBook 4540s. I've installed an ISO onto USB with Unetbootin.

(It took me a while to get through all the BIOS to even install it!)

The BIOS settings are UEFI hybrid, I've disabled Fast Boot and Security Keys, or whatever. I've also disabled booting from floppy and pxe, and ordered the boot sequence appropriately.

I've tried Gnome Disk Utility - to make the sda1 bootable, I also did this through the KDE Partition Manager.

Then I tried boot-repair, but it didn't give me any further instructions, except for this link:

http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/C3jMp42K7d/

I'm currently exploring GRUB - as you might guess, I'm quite new to Linux, and Lubuntu.

Any assistance would be much appreciated. Trawling through similar but different problems can be confusing!
Much gratitude,

Duckwobble

grahammechanical
May 3rd, 2021, 02:27 AM
A little bit of history. In the early days computer motherboards had an integrated circuit (chip) that held information about the hardware & boot order and all that stuff. It is called BIOS (Basic Input Output System). Then an improvement was made. BIOS was replaced with UEFI (Unified Extensible Firmware Interface). You have a UEFI motherboard. That means an operating system can be installed in EFI mode or BIOS/Legacy/CSM mode. CSM = Compatible Support Module.

With UEFI motherboards we can run the Ubuntu installer ISO in either UEFI mode or BIOS/Legacy mode. Whichever mode we load the Ubuntu installer in that is the mode Ubuntu will be installed in.

To quote Boot Repair

This live-session is not in EFI-mode.

To quote you

The BIOS settings are UEFI hybrid,

Lubuntu is installed in BIOS/Legacy mode but the motherboard is running UEFI hybrid. The two modes are incompatible.