PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu Server + GUI = Ubuntu Desktop?

james_n2
March 31st, 2021, 04:13 AM
Hello everyone,
I am newbie here!
I have installed the headless Ubuntu Server version 18.04.
Recently, I come arcross an article that said, we can install the GUI for the Server by
apt-get install ubuntu-desktop
I did it, and in fact, after the completing the installation, the Server boot straight to the Desktop interface of the Ubuntu instead of showing the regular command line and prompt
I run "lsb_release -a" to check the version but unfortunately, the result does not tell if the version is Server or Desktop
Could someone please confirm if the Server + GUI install = Desktop? If it's what's the difference between Server and Desktop, apart from just the GUI?
Thank you very much

The Cog
March 31st, 2021, 08:40 AM
I'm not sure, but possibly the server has slightly difference scheduling settings, prioritising overall throughput rather than a responsive GUI.
Apart from that, I don't think there are any other differences.

CatKiller
March 31st, 2021, 01:54 PM
The desktop installs get put on HWE by default where appropriate for the hardware, and I think the server installs don't?

But yeah, it's all the same software from the same repositories. You can add or remove whatever you want.

SeijiSensei
March 31st, 2021, 04:13 PM
I believe the server version includes some packages by default that are not in the desktop version. Things like the Apache web server or the Postfix mail exchanger that are commonly run on servers.

TheFu
March 31st, 2021, 04:21 PM
System management generally follows the server method, not the desktop. That means wifi and LAN management is through netplan yaml files, not a GUI. Lots of other little things like that wouldn't be integrated.

For most people, it is best to install the desktop version you want, then add server packages as needed.