PDA

View Full Version : New Install Grub Rescue

werth.clinton
February 15th, 2021, 07:54 AM
I just got a new hard drive. Fresh install. I tried the latest server and desktop versions. After a successful install. It reboots into grub rescue each time. I've tried to reinstall multiple times, still grub rescue.

I've also tried the grub rescue fixes. And have no luck. Should I try a different linux version? What am I doing wrong?

from boot-repair - http://paste.ubuntu.com/p/cgXFrYwbfx/

I'm new to linux and just trying to start learning how to use it. I just want to set up a linux server with Samba so I can use it as a kind of NAS for my home. I also want to set up a plex server. I have a 6tb drive. Everything is blank right now, so whatever the path of least resistance is I'm all for it. I don't need to worry about saving data or anything like that at the moment. Just trying to get an install done so I can start setting up what I need to and start learning. Thank you all for your patience and help with me.

CelticWarrior
February 15th, 2021, 10:30 AM
Check the boot order in BIOS/UEFI.

Impavidus
February 15th, 2021, 11:25 AM
Can you install boot-repair (https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Boot-Repair) in the live session and create a boot info summary? That may tell us what's going on. Don't run the recommended repair.

grahammechanical
February 15th, 2021, 01:10 PM
Did you choose Erase disk & install Ubuntu or Something else. If it was something else that you chose did you select a device for the boot loader installation? Default should be sda. Do you have more than one drive in that machine?