PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] blue brightness

francisaccount
September 1st, 2020, 09:37 AM
Hello!

I'm new to Lubuntu, I was using ubuntu 18 before. Since I installed Lubuntu, my screen looks blue. Only when the brightness of the screen is at its maximum, the screen looks white. But when I turn down the brightness, it does not turn progressively to black, it turns to a dark blue color. In between, it really looks blue (a white color shows up like very light blue).

How can I change the brightness system such that my screen doesn't look blue?

I tried to use Redshift. It is at 6500K right now, but the screen still looks rather blue.

Thank you for your help!

guiverc
September 1st, 2020, 10:00 AM
I can't give any meaningful help (I setup my redshift back in 16.04 days and haven't adjusted it since).

From the 6500 setting I gather you're talking temperature. It has many other settings, and in my case I just played until I achieved what I wanted.

I use the same setting on Lubuntu groovy I'm now running, as with any other desktop (if using GNOME I disabled Night Light so it doesn't interfere with my redshift setup), so I believe it's not Lubuntu specific (I also have multiple desktops installed on this system, and I use the same settings on each).

I'll refer you to https://help.ubuntu.com/community/Redshift

and I suggest you look at the GAMMA settings. You can set values for both day & night.

I'll also provide a link to https://docs.redshift3d.com/display/RSDOCS/Gamma though I doubt you'll need it.

ajgreeny
September 1st, 2020, 10:55 AM
Find the configuration file used by red shift, normally in your home .config folder.
In there you will find the colour temperature settings in use.

Reduce the 6500 down to about 5500 as a test and see what difference it makes; I use 6500 for daytime and 4000 for nightime, but try out as many as you like to until you display temp suits you.