PDA

View Full Version : Ubuntu 20.04 UEFI installation - duty for creating secure boot password?

x3nion
August 30th, 2020, 02:54 PM
Dear community,

I'm new to Linux and Ubuntu and would like to install Ubuntu 20.04 as a dual boot configuration with Windows 10 with UEFI standard. Therefore, I've been asked to create a secure boot password when selecting the point with the third-party software. There it says, that installing third-party drivers would require a secure boot password. However, I can deselect "Configure Secure Boot" without the point "Install third-party software" being deselected.

Now I've got two questions:

1) So is it possible to select the point with the third-party software without having to configure secure boot? Or will this lead to problems, i.e. that third-party apps won't be able to be installed afterwards and I get an error? Or would I be asked after the installation to create a password for installing third-party apps?

2) In case I choose an UEFI secure boot password in Ubuntu, is there a possibility to deactivate it afterwards?

I attached a picture so that you can see which step during the installation process I mean.
Link: https://www.magentacloud.de/lnk/lYBpOJcj#file

I'd be grateful for every reply!

Kind regards, X3nion

https://imgur.com/a/N5lOwNW

oldfred
August 30th, 2020, 05:08 PM
Canonical cannot create a secure key for third party drivers which you may want for video or WiFi. But if a user believes driver software is secure, he can create his own key.
With UEFI Secure Boot then entire boot chain must be secure using keys. This is only for drivers or software that must be integrated into the kernel.

If you remove a key, then you cannot Secure boot.
If not Secure booting, you can remove the UEFI Secure boot password. Some systems require you to set a UEFI password to gain access to some UEFI settings. But then you cannot ever lose that password or you have a brick. Some reset password back to blank after changing settings.