PDA

View Full Version : [lubuntu] Horizontal line display glitches after installing updates on fresh Lubuntu 18.04.4

ashton001
August 14th, 2020, 01:31 AM
This is my first time installing Linux, so apologies for my ignorance in advance.

After installing a fresh copy of Lubuntu or Xubuntu it seems to work fine up until I install updates then 64 columns of randomly placed horizontal lines (1 to a few pixels in with) appear after restart.
I tried reinstalling Lubuntu then only installing all updates except drivers, but the problem still appears, so I still have no idea which of the hundreds of updates is the problem.
Is anyone familiar with this type of problem and how to best fix it?

The computer is a IBM ThinkPad T42
OS = Lubuntu 18.04.4-desktop-i386 or Xubuntu 18.04.4-desktop-i386
forcepae boot option is applied

Thanks,
Ashton

guiverc
August 14th, 2020, 07:19 AM
One of the machines used to test Lubuntu is a IBM Thinkpad t43 (pentium m, 1.5gb ram, radeon x300), and at least on that machine forcepae is not required. I've never had any issues on that machine (and as I use it semi-regularly I would for sure notice it).

I do have an older r50p that I sometimes use for testing (it does require forcepae as it's an older pentium m) but I haven't used it for some time (I'm lazy, as it's always running I tend not to reboot it and use other laptops). I can't recall when I last tested on the r50p, but I know it wasn't in the recent 18.04.5 series so I went and had a play...

I booted the Lubuntu 18.04.5 LTS ISO on my r50p (using `forcepae --forcepae` the box requires) and yep... the image is somewhat as you describe & picture. I don't believe I saw this in the 18.04.4 testing (I'm convinced I used the r50p for some tests that cycle), but that DOES fit with your description (fine with install, but after upgrades... issues; testing cycles end on the release).