PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] HP Envy Ubuntu Windows 10 dual boot

rt4525
August 12th, 2020, 11:27 PM
Hello,

I am new to Ubuntu. I am trying to install Ubuntu 20.04.1 for dual boot alongside Windows 10 on an HP Envy with AMD FX-8800P Radeon R7, 12 Compute Cores 4C+8G processors. Following various online tutorials, I have tried to install Ubuntu multiple times. I have used multiple USB installers including Rufus and Universal USB Installer to make a bootable USB drive. I have changed the settings on the computer each time. I have turned off fast startup, disabled secure boot, partitioned my hard drive so that 60GB will be free, and changed the boot order in BIOS. When I restart my computer, the USB is read and I select the option to install Ubuntu. A screen with the HP logo and the Ubuntu logo comes up and the initial disc check starts. After disc check reaches 100% it says that no errors have occurred and the Ubuntu spinner wheel starts spinning. That is where the installation stops. The logos stay up and the spinner continues spinning. I have left it in that state for hours and even overnight with no change. Ubuntu never starts installing beyond the disc check. Can someone please tell me what I can do?
Thank you very much.

oldfred
August 13th, 2020, 12:35 AM
Have you updated UEFI?
And if SSD, the SSD firmware?

Many new systems need drives changed from RAID or Intel RST to ACHI. But if using Windows, you must first install AHCI driver into Windows or it will not boot in AHCI mode.

Windows AHCI instructions - some have found safeboot method better
https://www.dell.com/community/Laptops-General-Read-Only/Dell-M-2-FAQ-regarding-AHCI-vs-RAID-ON-Storage-Drivers-M-2-Lanes/td-p/5072571
https://askubuntu.com/questions/1233623/workaround-to-install-ubuntu-20-04-with-intel-rst-systems
https://discourse.ubuntu.com/t/ubuntu-installation-on-computers-with-intel-r-rst-enabled/15347
AHCI enable - May have to unlock bitlocker if used