PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Ubuntu 20.04 installation problem

ulissipus
May 21st, 2020, 03:35 AM
Could I have some advice on how to install Ubuntu 20.04 over Windows 10? I have been using Ubuntu for some 15 years and have installed, uninstalled, reinstalled many different editions and flavors of it. Last week I made a clean install of the 20.04 edition in my laptop and it works flawlessly. Now I want to do away with W10 on my desktop and have Ubuntu instead. No dual booting.
But installation always stops and freezes at "Installation Type" screen. Instead of the usual options of what you want to do with Ubuntu, I get a blank, frozen screen. If I try and click on one of the fields, then I get from the background a message "Sorry Ubuntu 20.04 has experienced an internal error etc". The only possible way of moving forward is to turn off the computer, which of course stops the installation process.
My machine is a Dell Inspiron 2530.
I once got an error message "Install Ubuntu 20.04 is not responding" and the option to "Force Quit" or "Wait". Nothing happened when I waited.
Windows 10 boots with no problem from the USB drive. The USB key is not damaged either.

oldfred
May 21st, 2020, 02:35 PM
Is that new enough to be UEFI or just BIOS.
Have you updated UEFI/BIOS to latest available from Dell?
What video card/chip are you using?

Is hard drive ok.
What does Disks, Smart Status, show - in icon in upper right corner of Disks. It can run lots of tests, but all I know is whether it says drive is good or bad.

ulissipus
May 22nd, 2020, 02:58 AM
Thanks for your reply. I am no techie and everything I've read about managing partitions in Windows is so complex and complicated that, for the time being, I will keep Windows 10. I have not yet had the time to go through your advice and suggestions, but I will do it. If I come across a clear, straight to the matter wayof working with partitions, I will certainly do it!