PDA

View Full Version : Can I instal Ubuntu on a non-bootable drive ?

nola-guy
May 4th, 2020, 05:38 PM
Newbie here. I was surprised I couldn't find this in a search, since I would think it would be a common situation.I have an older system that is plenty fast enough, but it only has sata2 and does not support pci-e booting. So my new SSD is bottle necked by the sata2. If I install grub on a drive the bios sees as bootable, can Ubuntu and W10 be on the SSD connected to a pci-e card the bios can't boot from?

oldfred
May 4th, 2020, 05:55 PM
I do not have previous posts.
But have seen users with drives in removable DVDs that would not boot, and install to that drive. But I think one only needed grub on bootable drive, but another user had to have both grub & a /boot partition on bootable drive.

No idea on Windows.

sudodus
May 4th, 2020, 07:53 PM
I have such a system with the bootloader and a boot partition on the bootable drive, but the root partition on the fast nvme drive, which is not recognized as a boot device, but works well for the root partition.

This is straight-forward to install with the installer Ubiquity (used by all desktop flavours except Lubuntu). The old Debian installer in the classic Ubuntu Server and in Ubuntu mini.iso can do it too.

Lubuntu's Calamares couldn't do it when I tried a few months ago. I don't know about the new Curtin installer in Ubuntu Live Server.

nola-guy
May 4th, 2020, 08:15 PM
What about my W10?

CelticWarrior
May 4th, 2020, 08:53 PM
What about my W10?

Should work but old = BIOS therefore likely more complicated. You need to install Windows first.

sudodus
May 4th, 2020, 08:57 PM
There are other forums where you can get better help with Windows ;-)

But if you are thinking about dual booting with Ubuntu, we can help :-)

You can keep Windows where it is.

- Backup everything that you cannot afford to lose, maybe the while drive with Windows, maybe only your personal files: documents, pictures etc.