PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Using grub on Ubuntu bootup

andrew_s4
April 21st, 2020, 08:52 PM
I’ve just installed Ubuntu 19.10 on an external usb ssd. My main computer runs Ubuntu 18.04. Basically I just wanted to see if I could do it without screwing everything up. It all works fine. For most of you this is no great stretch, but I’m a novice at this and am learning through doing! Now I have the problem that grub on boot up needs to have the usb external drive plugged in or it doesn’t know what to do, and this is the problem.... neither do I. How do I boot up into 18.04 when the usb drive isn’t plugged in. When both os are available on bootup grub gives me the option to boot up the os I wish. But if the usb isn’t there then I get the grub screen prompting me and I don’t know how to begin with it. Could use some help!
thanks
Andrew

CelticWarrior
April 21st, 2020, 08:57 PM
BIOS or UEFI?

andrew_s4
April 21st, 2020, 09:27 PM
Uefi

CelticWarrior
April 21st, 2020, 09:31 PM
Uefi

So just change the OS boot order to the other "Ubuntu".

ajgreeny
April 21st, 2020, 09:39 PM
You currently have grub files on the external disk suppyling the configuration for running the grub when you boot the computer so if the external disk is missing at boot, so are the configuration files, presumably with the grub rescue prompt.

I think it is possible to sort this out quite easily, though I am no expert when dealing with external disks on a UEFI system.

See Boot-Repair in my signature below and follow the instructions there to run the Boot-Info-Script. Do not run the default repair but simply copy back here the pastebin link you get which will show us a lot more about your system and may help one of our experts tell you what to do next.

oldfred
April 21st, 2020, 10:41 PM
Issue is that new install overwrite the ESP in the internal drive.