PDA

View Full Version : New System76 Laptop Ordered

spswitzer
March 31st, 2020, 06:53 PM
Well I finally took the plunge and ordered the Galago Pro 14" Laptop from System76. I've been trolling their web site for about 6 months now and I decided to go for it. I must have read tons of reviews on it and for the most part they are really good. Here's the basic specs:

Ubuntu 18.04 LTS (64-bit) Installed

4.2 GHz i5-10210U (1.6 up to 4.2 GHz - 6 MB Cache - 4 Cores - 8 Threads

8 GB Single Channel DDR4 at 2666 MHz (1x8GB)

250 GB NVMe Seq Read: 3,500 MB/s, Seq Write: 2,300 MB/s

mastablasta
April 1st, 2020, 07:52 AM
how much for that?

Ryzen 5 3600 at these specs costs about 460 EUR with 512 GB SSD drive and 8 GB ram. one can add more ram (up to 16GB) and there is room inside for a HDD or another SSD. it's an HP machine and looks like ubuntu works well on it from what i found on internet.

spswitzer
April 1st, 2020, 10:07 AM
how much for that?

Ryzen 5 3600 at these specs costs about 460 EUR with 512 GB SSD drive and 8 GB ram. one can add more ram (up to 16GB) and there is room inside for a HDD or another SSD. it's an HP machine and looks like ubuntu works well on it from what i found on internet.

It was $1,100 US. It's user upgrade-able and repairable as well. It's one of the reasons I purchased also It's built to run Linux. System76 only builds Linux Computers and they ship with either Ubuntu 18.4 LTS or their own Pop_OS 19.

sdsurfer
April 1st, 2020, 03:38 PM
I have a Gazelle as a personal laptop purchased around two yeas ago and recently had my company purchase a Gazelle for my WFH workstation. I love them! You will love opening the box, the packaging itself is unique and very cool. :-D