PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Cant install on Acer Extensa 5635Z

hanswurst98
February 24th, 2020, 08:49 PM
Hi everbody

As a Linux newbie, I try to install Ubuntu 19.10 on an Acer Extensa 5635Z.

Win7 is working fine, thats why I think it is an Ubuntu issue.

I prepared an USB boot stick with Universal USB Installer and I can boot into Ubuntu.

However, as soon as it gets to anything WiFi related, the system freezes.

Just the same when I try to fully install Ubuntu. When it gets to the step of using an internet connection the install routine freezes, regardless of opting for "connect" or "skip".

The WiFi adaptor is an Atheros AR5B93.

Please let me know if you need any further information.

Thanks

p.s. For the sake of completenes, I also tried lubuntu facing the same issue

EuclideanCoffee
February 24th, 2020, 10:55 PM
Have you tried using Ethernet to install the operating system?

hanswurst98
February 25th, 2020, 11:47 AM
... using Ethernet ...

I cant imagine how to do this since the installation routine suggests to use the "Qualcomm Atheros AR928X" and doesnt give me any other option.

As I said, shortly after it freezes even if I decided to skip the "connection" part.

mörgæs
February 25th, 2020, 02:11 PM
For this hardware it's better to stick to Lubuntu.

Does the computer have a hardware switch for disabling wifi access?

EuclideanCoffee
February 25th, 2020, 04:32 PM
Even without wifi, you can still install Ubuntu. If you skip the connection part, it's likely unrelated to wifi. Perhaps your BIOS settings may be wrong for Ubuntu. I cannot say for sure as I do not have access to your device.

hanswurst98
February 26th, 2020, 04:02 PM
Thanks everybody.

It seems the issue was caused by v19.10 since 18.04.4 is up and running now.

As a newbie I am going to have lots of further questions.

But for now, thanks again.

CelticWarrior
February 27th, 2020, 02:45 PM