PDA

View Full Version : 19.10 grub-efi-amd64-signed dual boot installation error

ogola89
February 19th, 2020, 04:30 PM
Hello,

I have a HP laptop on which I have Windows 10 installed on an SSD, and I have a USB on which Ubuntu is installed. I was previously able to select which OS to boot to, but since upgrading to Ubuntu 19.10, I couldn't choose any more and could either boot to windows or Ubuntu using the boot menu in the BIOS. However, now I cannot seem to boot to Windows and don't have the option anymore in boot menu.

The main problem seems to be grub, although I am not sure exactly how to navigate the problem as I have limited experience with Ubuntu. I ran a boot repair yesterday and had the following report:
https://paste.ubuntu.com/p/c5MQd932dp/

I tried running the boot repair again today, which gave me the following code to enter in terminal and it seems to be a problem it is having even though I have tried a few workarounds:

(base) ogola89@Tom-Ubuntu:~$ sudo dpkg --configure -a
Setting up grub-efi-amd64-signed (1.128.1+2.04-1ubuntu12.1) ...
Installing for x86_64-efi platform.
grub-install: warning: efivarfs_get_variable: open(/sys/firmware/efi/efivars/blk0-47c7b225-c42a-11d2-8e57-00a0c969723b): No such file or directory.
grub-install: warning: efi_get_variable: ops->get_variable failed: No such file or directory.
grub-install: warning: parse_sas: could not stat /sys/class/scsi_host/host3/host_sas_address: No such file or directory.
grub-install: warning: parse_sas: could not stat /sys/class/sas_host/host3: No such file or directory.
grub-install: warning: is_gpt_valid: GUID Partition Table Header signature is wrong: be5608740128e852 != 5452415020494645: Invalid argument.
grub-install: warning: is_gpt_valid: GUID Partition Table Header signature is wrong: 0 != 5452415020494645: Invalid argument.
grub-install: warning: msdos_disk_get_extended_partition_info: extended partition info is not supported: Function not implemented.