PDA

View Full Version : Help! Laptop at error screen after usb installation

mbindy1
February 10th, 2020, 10:01 PM
I used Ubuntu years ago, but I am not an advanced techie! I wanted to install Ubuntu on an old laptop and uninstall Windows 10. I followed steps from a video on how to do it. I downloaded Ubuntu. Then I downloaded Power Iso. After installing Power iso, I inserted a USB drive and went to installation, answering YES to uninstalling Windows 10. Ubuntu came up, ran fine, and after awhile I shut it down. I started up the laptop and got a purple screen with GNU Grub at the top and within just seconds, it went to a black/white screen with lines and lines of info, "kernel not syncing," etc, a flashing cursor and I cannot type anything. 284998284999So, at this point, I have an unusable laptop. I am also unsure that the USB flash drive still has Ubuntu, since it seems to do nothing if I try to insert it before starting the laptop.
Should I order a Ubuntu disk or USB drive and start over?
Thanks so much!

yancek
February 11th, 2020, 09:28 PM
You don't need to "uninstall" operating systems but rather format the partitions on which they reside. I've never used Power ISO so don't know what to expect with it. You indicate you followed some tutorial online but neglected to post a link to it so if there was incorrect information on it, no one would be able to tell you. Did you boot the Ubuntu usb and use it? Did you use it and go through the entire installation process from the usb? Not really clear exactly what you did. If you insert the usb before starting/booting the laptop, you would need to set the usb to first boot priority in the BIOS for it to boot.

mbindy1
February 11th, 2020, 10:48 PM
This is video I watched and followed: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vt5Lu_ltPkU