PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] How to replace a HDD with an SSD

robertcull1
December 11th, 2019, 12:11 AM
I am not using a UEFI based computer. The SSD has less space on it than the HDD.

I am using a dual-boot system that starts up letting me select the operating system with GRUB 2. The system originally had a copy of Windows 7 running on it. I installed a copy of Ubuntu 18.04 LTS alongside the Windows OS using an Ubuntu installation flash drive.

I want to create a new bootable duel boot SSD from the HDD. I wish to use dd and Gparted from a bootable Ubuntu installation flash drive to create the bootable SSD.

My partitions look like this from Gparted:

https://live.staticflickr.com/65535/49201581782_ee90d1c568_z.jpg

I have never done anything like this before, but after a little research online this seems like the best approach:

1. Copy the Windows partitions onto the SSD. Use a recovery disk to repair the MBR so that it boots to Windows 7.

From the HDD I will need to copy the MBR (/dev/sda1), the Windows OS partition (/dev/sda2) and the Windows 7 recovery image (/dev/sda3). I am assuming that when I repair the MBR with the recovery disk it will also tell the Windows OS where to find the Windows 7 recovery image (/dev/sda3) should I ever need it.

Now if I am to copy these partitions to the SSD, I need to make one NTFS partition exactly as big as the MBR on the SSD. I also will need to make an NTFS partition on the far right end of the SSD exactly as big as the recovery image partition (/dev/sda3) on the HDD. Then in the remaining space on the SSD I will make another NTFS partition as big as or greater than the Windows 7 OS partition (/dev/sda2).

I am assuming that you can choose whatever size you want to make a partition when you are making it with Gparted.

What I don't know is how can I find out the exact size of the MBR (/dev/sda1) and the recovery image partition (/dev/sda3) using the Ubuntu tools available?