PDA

View Full Version : no sound and stuttering video after update on 14.04

Dermot Doyle
December 5th, 2019, 10:07 AM
Hi All,
I hope this is the right forum for update problems. Thankfully it's been a few years since I needed any help, but this has has stumped me. I am a great believer in 'if it works, leave it alone', especially since I am not very good with computers. But last night I succumbed to the machine's repeated offer of updates and pressed the button. After restarting I now have a very slow computer, no sound and videos such as youtube which jerk constantly. Everything that involves graphics such as opening anything is laborious and slow.
The sound output shows 'Dummy output' and the additional drivers shows what is in the the attached screenshot. I guess its a graphics card issue, but my guesses could be dangerous.
The computer is a Dell Inspiron on which I loaded 14.04 from new in 2016. The kernal is 3.13.0-170-generic.
Thanks for any help.

Dermot Doyle
December 5th, 2019, 10:49 AM
Further to the problem, the computer went to sleap and then when I woke it up the screen was black. I restarted and the screen came back, but I have lost the Internet. The icon says no network devises available. This update seems to have screwed up my computer completely. Desperate for help now. Thanks.

ajgreeny
December 5th, 2019, 12:48 PM
You should note that 14.04 is now out of support so your problem will be difficult to solve.

You should update the system to a supported version; I recommend 18.04 which is supported until 2023, or 2021 if you use one of the alternative DE versions such as Xubuntu or Lubuntu.

Dermot Doyle
December 5th, 2019, 01:05 PM
I understand 14.04 is no longer supported, I just hoped my problem wasn't unique and could be fixed. I was hoping I could simply uninstall the updates that have obviously mucked up the computer. Maybe not.
I also understand the advice to go with a newer system, but I have more questions if I go down that route.