PDA

View Full Version : Installation gone Wrong..

resilienceguy
December 4th, 2019, 11:18 AM
Hi everyone,
I recently developed interest in Linux, my experience with it blew my mind and i decided to dump Windows for it. So i did Ubuntu installation on my laptop via USB side by side with my existing windows OS and it worked perfectly fine. At some point i decided i want to do away with the Windows OS and just have only Ubuntu running on my laptop, so did a reinstall and this time choose to erase the disk option option during installation. Now i am having issues because the installation type page goes blank; seems like the problem has to do with boot disk partition, i am a newbie and confuse.

Everything seem to have gone wrong with the installation, i will appreciate getting help to resolve this issue. I understand that i might not have provided enough information but would be glad to provide my details on request.

oldfred
December 4th, 2019, 02:37 PM
If you have NTFS partitions with Windows hibernation flag still set that will cause issues.
Post this:
sudo parted -l

UEFI or BIOS install?
What brand/model system? What video card/chip?

coffeecat
December 4th, 2019, 03:27 PM
Support request, not chat.

Thread moved to Installation & Upgrades.

resilienceguy
December 4th, 2019, 10:45 PM
If you have NTFS partitions with Windows hibernation flag still set that will cause issues.
Post this:
sudo parted -l

UEFI or BIOS install?
UEFI Install..

resilienceguy
December 4th, 2019, 11:19 PM
Post this:
sudo parted -l

UEFI or BIOS install?

The output you requested:
HP-Pavilion-Notebook
Model: ATA WDC WD10JPVX-60J (scsi)
Disk /dev/sda: 1000GB
Sector size (logical/physical) : 512/4096B
Partition Table: gpt
Disk Flags:

Number Start End Size File System Name Flags
1 1049KB 538MB 537MB Fat32 EFI System Partition boot, esp
2 538MB 1000GB 1000GB ext4

Model: USB Disk 2.0 (scsi)
Disk /dev/sdb: 8015MB
Sector Size (logical/physcial) : 512B/512B
Partition Table: msdos
Disk Flags: