PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] xrandr - screen resolution - 2nd screen

Caleb.Robertson
December 2nd, 2019, 12:35 AM
So I on my laptop I have a custom external screen and when it comes on it has a crazy big screen resolution of 2048x1536 and that is the only mode it has in xrandr,

Well I followed this how-to trying to get it to be close to my laptops screen resolution.

https://askubuntu.com/questions/377937/how-to-set-a-custom-resolution

But when I do that it come out like this,

I am not new to linux but I am new to xubuntu so I haven't ever seen this before I figured maybe someone else has.

https://ubuntuforums.org/asset.php?fid=278744&uid=822278&d=1575291494

TheFu
December 2nd, 2019, 02:19 PM
For changing EDID/monitor provided resolutions, I like the lxrandr GUI tool. EDID is how monitors have provided their capabilities to GPUs for a very long time, at least 15 years, since the VGA days. HDMI, DVI, and DP support this too.

If you need to override the resolutions (called "modes" in X11), then manually creating an xorg.conf file will be needed. Looking up the native resolution, refresh rates, horizontal and vertical sync rates will be needed. That data goes into the "modeline". There are examples of X11 config files on the internet. I can post one of mine, but yours WILL be different and must be customized for the GPU, monitors, settings. Copy/paste will not work.

I have know idea how Wayland does it. None. Sorry.

Perhaps someone else knows how to get the EDID information to work. I've had to manually dump it because a DVI-i -to- VGA adaptor didn't pass it on to the GPU. Previously, the system was using a VGA KVM without any issues, but the new GPU doesn't support VGA.

Caleb.Robertson
December 2nd, 2019, 08:00 PM
Thank you for your reply I will try tonight when I get home.

If it helps this is the LCD to DisplayPort Adapter I used
http://abusemark.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_info&cPath=3&products_id=47