PDA

View Full Version : [ubuntu] Bootable USB stopped working after quitting from install

beh333
October 25th, 2019, 12:07 AM
Hi, I am new to Ubuntu. I am stuck in my attempt to make a dual boot machine with my ThinkPad X1 Yoga with Windows 10 Pro. Yesterday I made a bootable USB stick with Ubuntu Desktop 18.04.3 and it worked (running Ubuntu without installing it). So today I backed up my hard drive and tried installing Ubuntu from the USB. It was working but I decided to quit the install after a couple concerning things: (1) I didn't understand a warning about "the following disks have mounted partitions /dev/sda/" and (2) in the next screen after that warning, I felt like I needed to stop and think more about partitions. So I quit the install and researched partitions.

My subsequent install attempts have been problematic since I quit that otherwise successful first install. I have had problems with USB booting and/or Ubuntu not recognizing Windows. If I use my standard BIOS settings, then the USB fails immediately on booting with a "something is seriously wrong" error related to missing EFI. (This is my first exposure to secure boot FYI.) If I edit my BIOS settings to boot with legacy or CSM, then the USB does boot. However, the install says that it detects no operating system. That sounds bad -- I don't want to install without Ubuntu recognizing Windows, especially because this morning it did recognize windows.

I would really appreciate help. I have tried recreating the USB, with no effect. I have reset BIOS and that does not help. I tried making a bootable gparted USB stick and that fails with the same EFI issue as my Ubuntu USB stick.