PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Best software for backing up Offline Ubuntu?

giant-paw
October 24th, 2019, 10:38 AM
Hi all !
This question is a little bit different from mainstream (i think).
I want to backup my Ubuntu system, but it's Offline system, it's not booted, it just resides on a hard drive. And I can't boot it because it's broken.

I want to backup my sole user, his password, and everything in command of Root, preserving read/write rights, all security etc., wi-fi settings and all network settings, Gnome settings, full Firefox backup, and Transmission with settings for example.

If I just copy all files, I'm afraid that would be insecure and there are also root's files which are not easily written or moved. And I'm a linux noob :confused:...
Very much thank you for hints.

TheFu
October 24th, 2019, 02:50 PM
You are correct to think that just copying the files isn't sufficient. Unix backups need to contain these things for each file:
* data
* owner
* group
* permissions
* ACLs
Just the data alone isn't enough for any files outside a single userid's HOME directory.

Boot from a Live Desktop Ubuntu system (flash drive), install whatever backup tool you want, connect and mount whatever backup storage you like and backup the files using sudo. The target storage almost always needs to be formatted with a native Linux file system, so the owner/group/permissions are retained, along with the data. A few backup tools don't care about the target file system - duplicity and fsarchiver don't.

Some misconceptions need to be cleared up. Not having a password for any userid isn't a big deal. If you have physical access to the system, you can always boot using grub option that provide root access and you can reset any password you like, unless the OS is encrypted. Encryption breaks all sorts of things, unless you know how to decrypt the storage. User accounts and passwords are stored in /etc/ in the files that have *passwd* and *shadow* in the name.