PDA

View Full Version : Downloaded software can only access home folder

nano.ge
October 19th, 2019, 08:26 PM
Hi.

I'm fairly new to Ubuntu and Linux in general. I've got Ubuntu 19.04 installed along Windows 10. OS is great, and fills all my needs and more.
Only one thing: I've noticed that only software downloaded and installed through Ubuntu Software app can access all volumes and drives in my computer, but anything that was downloaded from any other source only can access the /home folder.
I suppose it's a security thing, but I'm not savvy enough to figure out a workaround by myself. There are some programs from reputable sources (Blender, GIMP, Inkscape), though being present in Ubuntu Software they are mostly outdated versions.
Can programs be "flagged" to access locations other than the /home folder?

Thanks in advance and sorry if my english leaves a lot to be desired.

Nano

TheFu
October 19th, 2019, 09:03 PM
Welcome to snap packages. If you avoid snap packages, all will be well, as far as this issue is concerned. Snaps aren't all bad and there might be a workaround, but I don't know what it is. I've been able to completely avoid all snaps by staying on 16.04.
If you avoid "Software Center" when looking to install packages, that is a way to completely avoid snaps, except for at install time packages. Synaptic is the older GUI package installation tool. Or you can use the shell/terminal to install packages.

If you want to try and relax the constraints on snaps, https://ubuntu.com/blog/a-guide-to-snap-permissions-and-interfaces is a guide. https://askubuntu.com/questions/1033344/how-to-give-snaps-access-to-somedir has a snapd developer responding to a question about this.

Impavidus
October 20th, 2019, 10:37 AM