PDA

View Full Version : Cannot load 16.04 over 18.04 - USB Drive/CD ISO file not recognized

mphucul
October 14th, 2019, 09:49 PM
First, I am not a Linux expert and this is my first experience with Ubuntu. I loaded version 18.04 to load ROS and start playing with robotics. The project I am following uses Ubuntu 16.04, so I tried to change my install. NOTE: I am using an HP windows laptop that I loaded Ubuntu over windows.

To load 18.04 I created a USB stick from the ubuntu ISO file. I changed the boot order and the laptop booted from the stick as expected. I then installed 18.04 over the windows installation. I then noticed that I needed to be running 16.04 for the project I am shadowing. I loaded 16.04 onto the USB Stick like I did with 18.04 and booted the laptop. V 1804 ignored the stick and booted from the hard drive. I tried multiple times and used (and ruined a few) USB sticks with no success. I then tried creating a bootable DVD but the results were the same. I created a new 18.04 stick and booted the laptop and this time it booted from the stick (I could tell because the changes I made to the desktop did bot show up).

I am a complete beginner with Linux (and retired) so I may be missing a step in this process. Any help would be appreciated.

thanks...

Mike

ajgreeny
October 14th, 2019, 10:37 PM
I have no real idea what you're trying to do but I would be very surprised if you can not use 18.04 in place of 16.04.

Tell us more about the detail of what you need to do that is not possible using 18.04; if it relates to specific GUI requirements in the instructions there may be easy workarounds to get things running as you need. If the instructions show you command line suggestions which will not work tell us of any error messages you get from running those commands.
And also for me at least, what exactly is ROS as it does not mean anything to me other than something to do with robotics?