PDA

View Full Version : [SOLVED] Installing Ubuntu - SSD not detected

robt800
October 7th, 2019, 08:56 PM
Hi,

I'm trying to install ubuntu on a thinkcentre M93p Tiny. I've swapped out the old HDD for a SSD drive. When I boot from the Ubuntu USB it does not detect the SSD...

Things I've tried:
1. gone into the BIOS and disabled secure boot (was already disabled)
2. took out the SSD - and reformatted it from windows to Ext3.
3. made sure the SATA is using AHCI in BIOS.

I've also downloaded rescatux and created a bootable USB, but I ain't too confident with it tbh as I'm still very new to Linux.

Help would be much appreciated!

Thanks

oldfred
October 7th, 2019, 09:53 PM
Windows cannot format to ext3????
And you want ext4 for / in most cases.

Did you update firmware for SSD, even if new?
And is UEFI for system the latest available?

If UEFI install, see link in my signature for general install instructions.
How you boot install media, UEFI or BIOS is then how it installs.
And UEFI will use gpt partitioning.

ml9104
October 7th, 2019, 10:38 PM
For booting from a USB or DVD drive, either device needs to be set as boot device #1 in BIOS/UEFI. The installer will take care of the SSD afterwards.

robt800
October 8th, 2019, 11:33 AM
Thanks for the replies:

I used EaseUS to format the SSD to ext3. unfortunatley I didn't have the option within EaseUS to format to Ext4. If we think this could be compounding the issue I can come up with other ways to sort...

I didn't do the firmware - I'll get it done now.

UEFI is a bit new to me - never heard of it before, though been around BIOS for years. I have set the SSD as the 1st boot device.

I've also disabled CSM in the bios which appears to make the ubuntu USB boot up in UEFI mode as per here: https://help.ubuntu.com/community/UEFI

Thanks

robt800
October 8th, 2019, 01:11 PM
Further updates:
I've ran the boot repair disk from here: https://sourceforge.net/projects/boot-repair-cd/