PDA

View Full Version : Disable Printer Autoinstalls in 18.04 LTS

mdamda123
May 27th, 2019, 08:59 AM
Hi All,

I'm currently upgrading from 12.04 LTS. I'm not a total noob but I'm not very well versed in Ubuntu either.

I have a problem wherein network printers automatically are installed - and this is a problem as the organization has a LOT of printers, and shared printers are listed several times over (this is a different problem!) This wasn't a problem in 12.04 LTS.

I'd like to know how to disable the printers from installing automatically.

Based on a quick search, I have tried the following and with the following results:

1. Editing /etc/cups/cups-browsed.conf - initially disables the search of printers but will repopulate after a while
CreateRemoteCUPSPrinterQueues No
CreateIPPPrinterQueues No
RemoteBrowsing Off
BrowseRemoteProtocols none
BrowseLocalProtocols none
BrowseProtocols none
BrowseDeny All

2. Editing /etc/avahi/avahi-daemon.conf and inserting enable-dbus=no under [server]
This will work but attempting to print in LibreOffice will hang the computer for about a minute before the printer selection screen comes up. Removing this line will also fix the hanging issue.

3. Disabling avahi-daemon from starting up. Not sure if this is a good long term fix.

These are the most common resolutions I've found, but seem to be inadequate.

Is there anything I haven't tried but can do?

Many thanks!

slickymaster
May 27th, 2019, 09:08 AM
Thread moved to Hardware for a better fit

mdamda123
May 29th, 2019, 02:57 AM
For anyone that has encountered a similar problem, I *think* I have resolved it by removing avahi-daemon.

(sudo) apt remove avahi-daemon

As for long term effects, I am not yet so sure.

Also, I don't think this should be in the hardware forum as I think this is primarily an OS issue.

Either way, thanks for looking :)

brian_p
May 29th, 2019, 12:57 PM
Hi All,